This post is for ladies only. So I had a conversation with a group of friends a few weeks ago about bras.The conversation was about how many bras one takes on a weekend getaway, which turned into sweaty boobs.  Gotta love girltalk. It was funny because I was telling the group that my boobs only sweat when I exercise, but apparently women with larger boobs sweat around the clock in the summer.

So anyways fast forward to 2 weeks ago.  I got out of the shower and I noticed a red spot below my boob, when I went to check it out in the mirror I was horrified.  I had 2 red blister circles, one under each boob. HELLOOOO when did this happen? how did this happen? and a big fat UGH because it happened. OK so this is when I shared and my friend said she gets these all the time because she has big boobs. OK first of all I feel for all you big chested ladies, and for the runners out there who are getting these not so nice looking badges of sweat!

My fear for getting an outbreak under my cute boobies I started powdering my girlies up for the last 2 weeks, which seems to be fading the red color. But then when I go for a run, the red returns. So I did further research and found that vaseline apparently works because its making the skin glide and not chaffe. Side note: this reminds me of my friends grandmother who used vaseline for EVERYTHING, it was like the dad in My Big Fat Greek Wedding with the windex 🙂 . 

I also found the article below about getting the right fitted sports bra which could be causing the chaffing.

Assignment tonight:

  1. Do the trunk twist on all my sports bras.
  2. Find new sports bra for running.
Imagine you are on a long run and everything feels right. The pace is strong and steady. Your strides are comfortably long. Breathing is carefree. The last thing you want is a painful distraction, like chafing. Redness or sore spots on your skin can be evidence of chafing. Most of the time, chafing is the result of clothing repeatedly rubbing on your skin. Both men and women are susceptible to chafing, especially in the nipple area. However, the potential to experience chafing is greater for women simply because a woman typically wears a sports bra while running. Every woman should know about fabric and fit when it comes to wearing a sports bra for running. A little knowledge in these areas will help you prevent painful chafing interruptions. First, avoid sports bras made with cotton. Cotton traps moisture, resulting in a soggy bra. A soggy bra is more likely to move and shift back and forth during a run than a bra that wicks or pulls moisture from the skin. Second, the sports bra must fit your body like glove, for lack of a better analogy. The band or piece that goes around the rib cage should be very snug. If your bra band moves back and forth while doing trunk twists, chances are it will do the same on a run. The cups should fully encase each breast. If your cup “runneth over” with breast tissue, you are exposing yourself to potential problems. The bra will not support like it should, allowing the breasts to move up and down or back and forth during a run. This movement in itself can be painful. It is also a common cause of chafing. Is chafing still a persistent problem even though you’ve managed to avoid cotton and you are confident you are wearing the best fitting sports bra? If so, try applying a commercial product like a petroleum jelly on your skin where chafing occurs prior to your run.